Paula Moraga wins the Letten Prize

Oslo, 20 June 2023: The Letten Prize of the year is awarded to a Spanish researcher dedicated to preventing new pandemics through groundbreaking surveillance tools.

Short citation
“For her groundbreaking research ambitions towards early detection of epi-
demics and designing control strategies worldwide, through the development of innovative and cost-effective disease surveillance systems at finer spatial and temporal scales than currently available”
. Read the in-dept citation.

This years marks the third time the prize is being awarded, and it goes to the spanish scientist Dr. Paula Moraga (41) for her pioneering work in developing big data technology for disease surveillance, capable of detecting outbreaks of infectious diseases in near real-time.

Dr. Paula Moraga wins the prize for her work in developing more accurate and precise surveillance tools than the systems available today. She combines mathematics, statistics, and programming in the development of surveillance tools capable of detecting outbreaks of infectious diseases in near real-time. The ongoing research has the potential to help prevent future pandemics.

Unanimous jury decision
A broadly composed international jury, led by Associate Professor Heidi Holmen from OsloMet, believes that Dr. Moraga ́s project is of significant international importance.

“The jury was unanimous in its recommendation. Her project is ambitious yet feasible, aligning perfectly with Letten ́s vision. The funding will contribute to achieving something concrete, and the knowledge generated from the project will hold great global value”, says jury leader Heidi Holmen.

This year ́s jury consists of researchers with interdisciplinary expertise from six different countries. Out of the 164 applicants for the Letten Prize, the top five candidates from universities around the world received honorable mention. However, the jury had no doubt that Dr. Paula Moraga had the strongest application.

The 2023 Letten Prize Finalists

Athina Anastasaki, ETH Zurich. Full citation.

Peiying Hong, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology. Full citation.

Sarah Perkins-Kirkpatrick, University of New South Wales. Full citation.

Joy Wolfram, Australian Institute for Bioengineering and The University of Queensland. Full citation.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: